my favourites from the year gone by!

This year I travelled to New York, Paris, Etretat; Morocco, and to many places in Finland; I taught a lot of first-year biology courses, including two field courses; I started focusing on my photography and did several wedding photo shoots; and I published a couple of popular science articles in the local newspaper. All in all, it was a great year full of surprises and creativity. I’ve been surrounded by incredible friends and a big, loving family wherever I’ve gone in the world. The success of my beloved partner’s science blog has made me very glad, too: the success is well-deserved!

As so many others, I decided to collect my best nature photos of 2012 in a blog post. Have you done the same? Add your link here!

Happy New Year from Morocco to everyone!

6797941255_4023d35658_o

The year started cold, with beautiful shapes…

7974025488_1b6ba0f473_h

My summer was full of field courses - but this time as a teaching assistant!

8047296190_c0d032fc40_h

It’s always great to find the small, often unseen things around us… This is a yellow stagshorn (Calocera viscosa), below is the great sundew (Drosera anglica).

IMG_8807

6852004950_69d3d9fc05_o

I apparently only liked taking black and white photos of birds: above, a coal tit (Periparus ater), below a mallard duck (Anas platyrhynchos).

IMG_7480

One night, I decided to go out and photograph the secret equations in Helsinki

7664751528_a0fe196609_b

Some urban nature photography: above, death in New York; below, reincarnation in Helsinki.

8123360022_03c2082e6b_h

7867762874_2bf1009994_h

And last but not least, hymenopterans in Morocco! My favourite order if I had one, and one of my favourite places, certainly. Above, a picture of an ant in the business of moving; below, a couple of angry wasps.

8269896293_f28c1b7059_h

6 thoughts on “my favourites from the year gone by!

  1. I like your frost abstraction. I used to see patterns like that on windows when I was growing up in New York, but I’ve lived in Texas for decades now and no longer get to see frost on windows.

    • it’s incredible what shapes frost can make, isn’t it? i bet you can see lots of other things in texas that you couldn’t see in new york, though. :) i’m glad you like the photo, thanks for commenting!

      • The advantage of living this far south is that we have mild winters and there are flowers and little critters out during most of the year (though the temperature as I write this is 36° and the sky is gray). As a result, I can do nature photography pretty much the whole year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

