ice volcanoes and tracks in the snow

I love walking on the sea in winter! It’s just such a lovely, open space and whether the ice is bare or covered with snow, there are always nice patterns to look at, and beautiful effects of the sun light. Also, I just like walking around and calling myself “winter Jesus”.

Anyway, this week I visited my family up north, where me and my partner also have a summer cottage. One morning, dad and me decided to go check on the cottage and make sure everything was ok. We took the car to the harbour, and walked to the island where our summer cottage is. It’s always as fun to walk the same way I know that I’ll be rowing in the summer – I can’t get over how cool that is. Of course you have to do it by taking the right precautions (ice picks, extra clothing packed in a waterproof bags, a stick to test the ice with), but that doesn’t make it any less fun. Also, when we walked to the cottage, there were car tracks more or less all the way (and they didn’t end in a big hole in the ice), so the ice should keep the weight of me and my dad.

The best thing about our ice walking adventure this time were the ice volcanoes (not an official name, it’s just what I call them) that you’ll see in the photos below. They form when the water levels go down after the ice has already formed on the sea: rocks that usually are below the water break through the surface, and in this case, the ice sheet. Last week, the water levels were 35 cm below normal because of a high pressure system, which meant that the ice also was 35 cm lower than when it formed – causing the rocks to poke through the ice and create these beautiful formations (I hope that explanation wasn’t completely confusing).

Enough talking – below are some photos from my day on the ice with dad. I hope you enjoy them, feel free to comment and/or ask questions!

IMG_0241_v2_1500_72

This is what winter is all about (for me): long shadows and walking on ice. The ice volcanoes are a bonus and a great way of finding out where all the stones around the summer cottage is. Maybe it’ll help me not getting stuck on them with my rowing boat next summer.

IMG_0244_1500_72

This is what we saw as we came closer to the summer cottage, which you can see in the background. In front, another one of these beautiful structures…

IMG_0236_v2_1500_72

Tracks in the snow (on the ice).

IMG_0233_1500_72

Dad wondering if the boat path they’ve dug out will be frozen enough to walk on when we visit again in 3 weeks!

IMG_0213_1500_72

A cold lock.

IMG_0225_1500_72

This is taken from inside the cottage – not a very warm place at this time of the year!

IMG_0257_1500_72

I removed a wasp nest that I know resided in the wooden chest on the balcony, and opened it to show dad what it looks like on the inside… They’re quite beautiful!

I seem to have gotten distracted from the ice volcanoes, so I’ll let you go. Enjoy the winter, whatever it signifies to you!

9 thoughts on “ice volcanoes and tracks in the snow

  1. What a great opening sentence – I had to read it twice to be sure!
    Beautiful images, Finland is most definitely an enchanting place, even if a little too chilly for me 🙂

  2. It wasn’t confusing to me! I can’t get enough of frozen things – make more white posts! A rather vaguely related question: how long do the fishing holes take to freeze over?

    • good to hear it! and i’ll try to make more frozen posts if i take any good pictures.

      i love how you come up with these questions! i’m not sure i can answer this one truthfully. what do you mean by freezing over? so much that you don’t have to make a new one but can keep fishing out of it? it probably depends on how cold the air is, too. i’m sure a fishing hole in the ice can get frozen/slushy enough within hours to require re-opening.

    • thanks a lot! i could’ve done more with the volcanoes, now that i think about it, but i never like keeping people waiting when i do photography… which is why i usually do it alone, if i’m planning to go out and just take pictures. but of course most people around me know that i’ll have my camera, and they’re wonderfully patient sometimes.

Leave a Reply

