the great mosque of cordoba

There will be a bit of a break here on the blog. Tomorrow, I’m flying to Finland to visit family and friends, and to run a marathon (what a silly thing to do on your vacation, right?). I’ll be there for three weeks, and when I return, I’m bringing my dad with me. So there might be up to 5 weeks without any posts!

Before I leave, I want to share some beautiful architecture that I was lucky enough to have the chance to enjoy in Córdoba, Spain about a month ago. The mosque-cathedral was built over 1000 years ago, on a site that was previously a Roman temple, and a Christian church. Today it’s a Catholic cathedral, but the buildings mosque origins are still very obvious. I hope you enjoy the photos!

IMG_0173

The beautiful, ornate mihrab.

IMG_0167

The now-cathedral still has a very strong atmosphere of Islamic art. 

IMG_0201

The unique hypostyle hall

IMG_0189

The newer, Christian part of the building is no less impressive. 

IMG_0190

… although perhaps impressive in a different way.

IMG_0191

Overwhelming, which is the point, perhaps.

2 thoughts on “the great mosque of cordoba

  1. Pingback: the best of 2014 | alternative viewpoints

Leave a Reply

